S.C. Office of Regulatory Staff
Driver File and Vehicle Requirements for
Class C Non-Emergency and Stretcher Van Certificates

Class C Non-Emergency and Stretcher Van Driver File Requirements

ALL OF THE INFORMATION LISTED BELOW MUST BE KEPT ON FILE AT YOUR PLACE OF BUSINESS BECAUSE THE ORS INSPECTOR
WILL NEED TO SEE THE PAPERWORK WHEN HE/SHE PERFORMS AN INSPECTION.

e Must be 18 years old

Copy of current/valid driver’s license (South Carolina or State of residence)

Current CPR and First Aid certificate or its equivalent

3 year certified copy of driving record from DMV (must be updated annually)

Medical examiners certificate (DOT card) - You can go to any physician who is certified to perform a Medical
Examination for Commercial Driver Fitness Determination, such as, your family doctor, Doctor’s Care, etc.

e Drug screening -A pre-employment, random and post accident drug testing program is mandatory

e State criminal background check

e Sex offender registry check

State Criminal Background Check
A state criminal background check ordered from the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED). County or city
record checks are not acceptable.

If you have access to the internet, the website address for SLED is: http://www.sled.sc.gov/

Once on the home page, follow the link entitled “Criminal Records Check.” Follow this link to the “SLED CATCH”
page. You may order a Criminal Records Check for $25 with a credit card.

If you don’t have access to the internet, you can call the Records Check division at SLED at (803) 896-1443
weekdays between 8:00 am —4:30 pm

Sex Offender Registry Check
A sex offender registry check can only be obtained through the internet. You may use the website of either the South
Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) or the National Sex Offender Public Registry (NSOPR).

The website address for SLED is: http://www.sled.sc.gov/

The website address for NSOPR is: http://www.nsopr.gov

To provide proof that a driver is not registered as a sex offender, search by the driver’s first name, middle initial and last
name and print the page which lists the results of the name search. The list of names should not include the name of
the driver and this is the proof needed to demonstrate the driver is not registered as a sex offender.

All Class C Certificate holders are prohibited from employing or leasing vehicles to drivers who are registered, or
required to be registered, as a sex offender with the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) or any national
registry of sex offenders. If the certificate holder of a Class C Certificate is registered or required to be registered as a
sex offender with SLED or any national registry of sex offenders, he/she is prohibited from driving a vehicle(s) for the
certificated company/business.
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Vehicle Requirements for Class C Non-Emergency and Class C Stretcher Van vehicles

e Vehicle must be marked with the name under which they are conducting business on both sides and the rear with
letters at least 3 inches high

e Fire Extinguisher Type ABC 4 Ibs or more dry powder or carbon dioxide inspected annually. Proof of annual inspection
must be attached.

e A “No Smoking” sign in the patient compartment
e Foot stool or extra step for loading

e Fasteners (straps) to secure wheelchair(s) to floor
e  First Aid kit with Commission required supplies

e  Proof of Annual Vehicle Inspection

Iltem Amount
Adult CPR Face Cover 1
Scissors 1
Isolation Kits (Gowns, gloves & facemask 2
Latex gloves
4x4 Pads 12
Roller Gauze 2
3” Cling Rolls 2
Triangular Bandages 2
Adhesive Tape 2
Spill Kit 1
Blanket 1
Band Aids (various sizes)
Bed Pan 1
Flashlights 2

In addition to the above, all company owners and drivers are required to know the Rules
and Regulations of the Public Service Commission. A paper copy of the Regulations or access
to them via the internet or other electronic means is a regulatory requirement. A link to the
Rules and Regulations of the Public Service Commission can be found on their website. The
website address for the Public Service Commission is: www.psc.sc.gov
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